Monday, July 7, 2014

Are cars and car drivers really the problem or is it pedestrians?

Dear Mayor de Blasio,

As a New Yorker, a car driver, a motorcycle rider, a bicycle rider and at time a pedestrian I know the proper ways to navigate the streets of NY. I have personally seen all drivers in cars, motorcycle and on bicycle do things that would endanger themselves and any one else who might have to swerve or hit them because they did the wrong thing. Let's not forget those angels we call pedestrian, who the Mayor and all those who hate motorized vehicles think does nothing wrong. They don't jay walk with arrogance, they don't jump off buses and proceed to cross which ever street their on either in front of the bus or via the back of the bus. They don't put themselves in danger because they have the idea that pedestrians have the right of way all the time no matter what. Of course not, they are the innocent victims of lawless motorized vehicles speeding on the streets on New York.

I'm not saying little kids or elderly people getting hit by cars is right or acceptable, nor do I think that car drivers in NY are anywhere near being good at driving. Driving in NY is you practice for a few months, you get lucky and pass the driver's road exam and you get a license. After you get a license you have 50 years of driving to learn and implement all the bad and reckless habits a driver develops over the years. And if you get caught speeding, driving reckless,(whatever that is), or any thing to violate driving laws, which include running people over and killing them, all you have to do is pay someone off, (NYC Traffic Bureau), spend some time not driving and you get your license back.

So our beloved NY mayor and all those against drivers think implementing more strict rules and regulations is somehow an effective means to get people to drive better. I remember when i first started learning to ride a motorcycle, i was given two choices, either buy a motorcycle,( which you can buy with just a driver's license), and practice on the streets of NY with the learner's permit you got. Or get the learners permit and then take a three day motorcycle course and if and only if you pass the three day course you will get a license. During this three day course there were people who was asked to leave because of the lack of progress and there were those who did not pass at all. I did pass myself with a very high grade of 99.

Then over the years as I talk to those who actually obtain their motorcycle drivers endorsement on their license,( you do actually get a motorcycle license), that a vast majority went the opposite route i took. They got a permit, got a motorcycle and we joy riding on the streets of NY without supervision or actual training and then took a motorcycle road test from DMV and seemed to have passed. I always ask what did they test and that answer amounted to nothing much.

Anyway I've gone way off topic into a rant on how getting a license means you showed promise on your ability to drive or ride but then after you obtained one your skills are never enhanced and improved upon.

Back to these angels of the street, the pedestrian . The Angels walk mindlessly into the streets and expect cars to come to a screeching halt as if God have endowed them with the ability to withstand a hit from a car. They stroll across streets with the don't walk sign on, they jump out between cars to jay walk because it's just too hard for them to walk to the safe cross walk, they continuously put themselves in the path of danger and the mayor say to motorist to just slow down. let them continue to act reckless and since we motorist pay for the right to use motorized vehicles and are basically under the thumb of the city and state we are the easiest to control with these one sided laws.

The mayor should put his efforts in teaching the citizen to respect the streets, just like swimmers learn to respect the dangers of the ocean when you go swimming. I grew up with the look both ways before crossing the streets idea, but now a days it don't worry if you run in the streets cars will hit you at a slower speed. So that road rash on your ass won't be so severe. This is totally the wrong approach that should be taken these days. But I'm not the mayor.

My answer to the safe streets is much more severe than fines and tickets, it pure education.
Educate drivers from when their learners to actual driver and beyond. When you become a CPA,( for those who don't know what that is Google it), you are required to take cpe courses to maintain your license. I think the same should be for drivers of motorized vehicles. and include an actual safety driving test not just a dumb and useless 6 hour online course to watch videos is not helping anyone expect the vendors who supply these things. Continually taking courses that lets you to understand braking, driving in curves, weight distribution, suspension, winter driving skills and others with help everyone. And on top of that having real driving test every 5 to 10 years, not to find reason to revoke your license but to help you improve your driving. These are my solutions.
 Forget the fines, people break every single law written for man by man and even the laws of God. So do you think more rules will really help. Train the people to be the best at the task and everyone will be safer for it.

No comments: