The weekend yeilded enough for me to get on the bike and ride to class and then take the extended tour home. I go to York college in Jamaica Queens, right off Parson Blvd. and Liberty Avenue. So I decided to take the long back to 212 and Jamaica Ave. I headed west on liberty Ave., heading towards The Van Wyck Expressway. The name of theis road, Liberty, gives it no justice at all. You have no liberty on Liberty. this is one of the worst roads in my part of Queens. The bumps, pot holes and crazy drivers plage this road all the time, I hate it, but it was the shortest route to the Van Wyck Expy.
After taking about ten mintues to go one block for the left turn on the Vany Wyck, my real journey began. I took it slow, about 70mph, as I entered the on ramp to the highway. The I decided to take it at that pace for the trip on the Belt to the Cross Island. That of course all changed as I saw the road open up like a horny girl in my bed, so I accelerated! Theres a nice little left hand 50 mph turn to go on the Belt leading towards the Cross Island Pkwy, and I think I got my baby up to about 90 mph. Felt good! Kept that pace for about two miles then said, Relax Nick. So I relaxed, until I got to the left hand curved exit for the Cross Island. I was going good until a two ton sleeper slowed me down further than I liked. Soas soon as the left lane was clear, I acclerated once more. A couple of BMW's atempted to keep up with me but by that time I was at triple digits and you know people scared to rally drive a good car.
And that was just Saturday!
Now Sunday was bit more passive, I did not reach 100 mph this day. I reallytook it easy going about 65 most of my trip. Hoped on the Norther State pkwy headed toward the meadowbrook pkwy. Long Island drivers are a bit more passive and no one seemd threatned by my presence on the road. From the Northern State, went south on the Meadowbrook, took that to the southern State, going about 65 to 70 most of the way. Was wearing my new riding boots to get a feel of it. Felt good, also all my winter workouts paid off. My back and core seemd very strong, there was no tendency of me leaning on my handle bars to remain upright, felt real good! Nice day for a ride, very little sun, cool temps. and pretty light traffic, until I goto the turn for the cross island. Once there I got caught behind a two ton sleeper again, so that instantly pissed me off, checked the left lane, clear, the acelerated right past hime, got up to 90 and then relaxed to slow down for my Hempstead ave exit, right by Belmont Racetrack. one of the very worst off ramps in Queens, and it's basically a large arched u-turn. The turn sucks, with holes, gravel and busses parked along the sidem DAMN! Well got on Hempstad headed home with no further probalems.
Good weekend for the ride, I enjoyed it.
Did you??